So Spain didn’t work out

The day after I made my last post, I went in to Vaughan for my assesment. Before the class began, I was called aside and informed that it wasn’t working out. Apparently, I was boring and my classes undynamic. Bummer.

If you decide to read my last two posts, you’ll see that Vaughan believes in pushing people hard. I can certainly see why they do it – they want to weed out the wimps before they have to pay anybody. They also have a rather annoying habit of assigning you to make up a lesson plan and then, the next morning, telling you to chuck half of it and use their own material instead. I understand wanting us to use their material, and I can see the point of making us create it ourselves to get more familiar with it, but still, you’d think they would let us actually put into practice the plans we’d spent all evening coming up with.
I wasn’t the only one who failed. Five others also didn’t make it through, two of them only finding out on the last day. That makes me feel a little better, since I’m not inferior to everybody. We all had a party on the last day at the house of one of my coaspirants, which was good fun. For the first time in my life, I was actually missed by people. Cripes, I’m actually tearing up just thinking about it. They also reported that on the last day, they had a talk by Richard Vaughan himself, which was likened to a cult. Perhaps I got out just in time. Still, as I’ll come to later, this was ultimately for the best.
I happened to get an interview for soon after the part with another, more traditional English school. I made a decent enough impression, but was told I would need to get a numero identificacion de extranjero (NIE), which is like a PPS number for immigrants. This began my epic adventure with Spanish beaurocracy.
OK, so after about a week of fruitlessly phoning the police station I’d managed to track down in the hope of speaking to somebody and thereby making an appointment to get the NIE I would need to work there, I eventually decided to go down physically and see if I could talk to someone about the phone service. When I got there, it was actually open, with all sorts of people in all sorts of queues, and sure enough, I needed an appointment.

This time, however, I managed to find a website where I can make a booking. Good old XAMP, so much more reliable than humans… Ahem. Anyway, I finally managed to sort out an appointment – for May 15th. And that’s the earliest day they had available. Yeah. I’ve emailed my dad’s cousin, who knows about this stuff, but he wasn’t able to help me.

I returned to Ireland in the meantime, and the very day after I got back, I was offered a job in quality control which I had interviewed for shortly before leaving for Spain. Obviously, I took it, and that’s where I am now – and furthermore, I’m loving it. And to think, if I had gotten the teaching job, I’d have had to turn this one down.
Funny how life works out sometimes.
In the meantime, here are some handy Spanish phrases:
  • Tienen X? = Do you have X?
  • Queria X. = I would like X.
  • Perdonne = Excuse me.
  • Donde es X? = Where is X?
  • Combine X? = How much does X cost?
  • Cuanto cuente, por favor = I would like the bill, please.

=-=-=-=-=
Powered by Blogilo

Leave a Reply

